My Inheritance

Some of my most prized possessions are the recipes that have been handed down to me from strong, talented, creative women in my life. My favorite of these treasures is my mother’s pecan pie recipe. It’s my favorite for a few reasons. First, it was my mother’s signature dessert. I can’t bake or eat pecan pie without remembering her and the special times (and laughs) we shared while she taught me the secrets to making the ultimate pecan pie. Second, her recipe is very easy and fool-proof for a busy cook. It is very simple to pull together during the holidays or whenever a great dessert is needed. And lastly, it is just delicious!

If for some reason you have never tried pecan pie (gasp!), you must, must, must make this pie now! Once the pie has baked and cooled, inside a flaky, pastry crust you will find silky, sugar custard gently cradling fragrant, toasted pecans. How could it get any better …whipped cream, anyone?

My mother passed away more than ten years ago. Pulling out her pecan pie recipe, reading her instructions, her choice of words and handwriting never fails to remind me of those special days spent in the kitchen with her. This year I started teaching my daughter how to make the pecan pie. It has provided a wonderful opportunity to tell her stories about the grandmother she never met.

Here is the recipe for my mom’s pecan pie. I hope you bake it and share it with someone you love.

Image

Anita’s Pecan Pie

4 Eggs

1 Cup Sugar

1 Cup Light Corn Syrup

2 Cups Chopped Pecans

1 tsp. Vanilla

Dash of Salt

1/3 Cup Butter, melted

9” Unbaked Pie Pastry

Prepare the pie pan with a non-stick cooking spray or grease and flour the pan. Unfold pastry into the pan, crimping edges as desired. Place in the refrigerator or freezer while preparing the filling.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat eggs well. Add sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, salt and melted butter. Add pecans and pour into pie/pastry shell.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center of the cooked pie comes out clean. Hint: To prevent the pastry or top of the pie from over-browning, at about 30 minutes of baking time, gently lay a piece of aluminum foil over the pie. Continue baking.

Allow pie to cool to at least room temperature before serving. Hint: This pie is even more delicious after it has been frozen and thawed.

3 thoughts on “My Inheritance

    • Thanks Bev! I appreciate your kind words. It’s great to find little ways that mom lives on through us. Brynn is starting to look so much like her. 🙂

Thanks for contributing your comment.

