The way to a man’s heart is through meatloaf?

Long before Glamour magazine suggested that they had the recipe for an engagement (Engagement Chicken), I had the recipe that caused my then-boyfriend to drop on bended knee and ask me to marry him.  What is this miracle dish?  Wait for it….don’t laugh….  It’s meatloaf.  Not just any meatloaf, but personal-sized meatloaves, filled with a savory blend of ground chuck and chopped onions and topped with a sweet, tangy glaze.

 Marry Me Meatloaf

How did meatloaf become go from ho-hum to “hubba hubba”?  I can’t remember my mother ever making meatloaf.  The meatloaf that I had suffered through had been from school lunch ladies or well-meaning church ladies at potlucks.  In a word, ick!  I had sworn off meatloaf in all forms.  After a meatloaf-palate-cleansing two or three years, I was introduced to a small, oval shaped personal- sized meatloaf.  It was moist, and flavorful, with a BEAUTIFUL sweet glaze spooned over it.  In a word, where-have-you-been-all-my-life?

Shortly after my boyfriend and I got “serious,” I decided it was time to make this a more permanent arrangement.  Meatloaf.  Yes, my incredibly delicious meatloaf.  Within weeks, he was asking my father for his permission…and me to make another batch of meatloaf.  The rest as they say is history.

So, here is my beloved recipe, for your consideration.  By the way, hubby and I are now are year 17! And, he now cooks the meatloaf for us both! Yum!!

Marry Me Meatloaf

2 lbs. Ground Chuck

1 cup of quick oats

1 small onion, diced

2 eggs

1/4 cup water

Salt & pepper to taste

Glaze:

1 ½ cups Ketchup

1 TBSP prepared yellow mustard

1 cup brown sugar

Mix ingredients for glaze and set aside.  Preheat oven at 350 degrees.

Line a large baking pan with foil for easy clean up.  Pan should be at least 2 to 3 inches deep.  I generally use a 9 X 13 or larger.

Add first five ingredients to a large bowl and mix gently.  Avoid mixing too much as it will result in a tough meatloaf later.

This recipe is easily expanded to serve many. This photo is of a double batch.

Shape the individual sized meatloaves into an oval that is approximate 3 inches by 5 inches and 2 inches high.

With a knife, make criss-cross indentations on the tops of the meatloaves to allow the glaze to stick to the tops while cooking.

Shake salt and pepper over the untopped meatloaves according to personal tastes.

Spoon glaze over each meatloaf.

The criss-crosses in the loaves help “hold” the glaze during baking.

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes at 350 degrees.  Allow the meatloaves to cool slightly before serving.

I often serve roasted potatoes with Marry Me Meatloaf. Both dishes can share the hot oven.

One thought on “The way to a man’s heart is through meatloaf?

  1. Pingback: Jenny K.’s Culinary Creations – Turkey Meatloaf « zumbawithjennyk

Thanks for contributing your comment.

